Research Triangle Area Foreign Trade Zone Approves Nomination of New Board Members

Date Published:

On Thursday, October 21, 2021, The Rates, Tariff, and Legal Review Board for Research Triangle Area Foreign Trade Zone #93 approved the nomination of three additional board members:

  • Chris Johnson, Economic Development Director for Johnston County
  • Harry Mills, Economic Development Director for Granville County
  • Angie Stewart Economic Developer for Harnett County. 

Additionally, current board members, Lori Bush, Bill Haiges, and Rebecca Wyhof Salmon were renominated for an additional term. 

All nominees will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2022. The approval of these nominations brings the total number of board members to twelve.

Triangle J Council of Governments is the grantee of the Research Triangle Area Foreign Trade Zone #93 which allows companies importing and exporting products to reduce or delay custom duties or taxes on products received within the zone. All zone activities must result in public benefit and a net positive economic effect.

The FTZ #93 Board is tasked with reviewing and recommending applications for zone status; adopting a zone schedule including rates, rules, and regulations; and ensuring the Grantee operates the zone as a public utility.

FTZ #93 serves the Research Triangle region across 15 counties – Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, Person, Sampson, Vance, Wake, Warren, and Wilson counties. 

More information about FTZ #93 can be found here.