Research Triangle Area Foreign Trade Zone Approves Nomination of New Board Members


On Thursday, October 21, 2021, The Rates, Tariff, and Legal Review Board for Research Triangle Area Foreign Trade Zone #93 approved the nomination of three additional board members:

  • Chris Johnson, Economic Development Director for Johnston County
  • Harry Mills, Economic Development Director for Granville County
  • Angie Stewart Economic Developer for Harnett County. 

Additionally, current board members, Lori Bush, Bill Haiges, and Rebecca Wyhof Salmon were renominated for an additional term. 

All nominees will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2022. The approval of these nominations brings the total number of board members to twelve.

Triangle J Council of Governments is the grantee of the Research Triangle Area Foreign Trade Zone #93 which allows companies importing and exporting products to reduce or delay custom duties or taxes on products received within the zone. All zone activities must result in public benefit and a net positive economic effect.

The FTZ #93 Board is tasked with reviewing and recommending applications for zone status; adopting a zone schedule including rates, rules, and regulations; and ensuring the Grantee operates the zone as a public utility.

FTZ #93 serves the Research Triangle region across 15 counties – Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, Person, Sampson, Vance, Wake, Warren, and Wilson counties. 

More information about FTZ #93 can be found 這裡.